Day 2.21 Slow Drop Devices

Wed. Feb 26, 2014

We are studying constant acceleration  So naturally we determined that everything on Earth free falls at a rate of 9.8 m/s/s.  I challenged my classes to design an object that would be dropped at a rate that was slower than 9.8 m/s/s.  Although it needed to fall slower, it also needed to land directly below the drop point.  As you can see in the video one of these was quite successful at that, the other, not so much.

About bradwysocki

I teach high school Chemistry and Physics using Arizona State University's Modeling Method. The school I teach in is Bloomer HS in Northwest Wisconsin. I've been using the Modeling Method for 7 years now and have just recently begun using Standards Based Grading as a way to assess my students learning.
This entry was posted in Engineering, Kinematics, Modeling, Physics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment