Day 2.10 Thought Lab

Fri. Feb 7, 2014

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The students performed a Separation of a Mixture Thought Lab.  I’ve decided the actual lab set up and completion isn’t worth the time and energy to get the concept of physical mixture separation (my chemistry students have this prior knowledge, but need a quick refresh).  So we run a “thought lab”  and students diagram a procedure and set up required to separate various mixtures.  This take a class hour and works well. I’ve gotten some pretty creative ideas in the past as well!

About bradwysocki

I teach high school Chemistry and Physics using Arizona State University's Modeling Method. The school I teach in is Bloomer HS in Northwest Wisconsin. I've been using the Modeling Method for 7 years now and have just recently begun using Standards Based Grading as a way to assess my students learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

