Day 70 – Intro to Energy Bar Graphs

Fri. Dec 13, 2013

Day 70

Chemistry 1 – Earlier this week we looked at boiling, melting, and freezing of water individually.  Today we put it all together into one big Temp vs. Time graph.  In class I showed and how to analyze the Energy storage category at a point on the graph.  Because energy is being added to our system throughout this process we need to include an “Energy Flow” modeling this increased energy.  The above is a final product after analyzing all point along the graphed line.  This serves as a great way to introduce the usefulness of Energy Bar Graphs to track energy in a system.  (BTW, I used an app called AirSketch that allows me to write on my iPad and project it through the computer.)

Physics 1 – Student groups completed work on the box on a ramp problem I showed yesterday.  I then gave individuals a “Checkpoint” assignment.  It was like a mini-quiz, but I didn’t want to call it a quiz.  I will be able to analyze how the students did on the problems to guide the classes next week.

Chemistry 2 – Groups continued to work on, and hopefully finished, their Organic Functional Group Wiki project.  It’s due on Monday.

About bradwysocki

I teach high school Chemistry and Physics using Arizona State University's Modeling Method. The school I teach in is Bloomer HS in Northwest Wisconsin. I've been using the Modeling Method for 7 years now and have just recently begun using Standards Based Grading as a way to assess my students learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

