Days 58-65 Oops

Wow, I have not been keeping up my end of the deal here.  Not that I really have a deal with anyone.  I think I’m doing this more for me then anyone anyways.  Originally my idea was that students that missed class could use this, but I don’t think they really have.  I’m going to try to keep going with this project however, because I think it can benefit me in the future.

I’ll just do a quick recap of what we’ve been doing the last 8 school days.

2013-12-03 10.09.27

Chemistry 1 – We watched the NOVA video “The Race to Absolute Zero” and then practiced more Gas Law problems.  We took end-of-the-unit assessment on Unit 2 the other day.  The picture above shows student groups working to create and solve their own PVnT Gas Law problems.  This was a good engaging review for the class.

2013-12-06 07.52.18

Physics 1 – We have been working on analyzing forces present in various situations.  Somewhere in there I introduced Fnet Analysis diagrams.  I waited to introduce them when we started seeing forces applied at angles other than horizontal and vertical.  We did a lot of whiteboarding and practicing, leading up to a quiz today.

Chemistry 2 – We have been working on naming Organic chemistry compounds, specifically alkanes.  I used a great modeling style activity I had gotten from Mr. Ryan Peterson at Brillion High School as a way to guide students to discover the IUPAC naming rules for subsituated Alkanes, rather then be given the rules an then figure out how to apply them.  We did a lot of practice with that and are now beginning to look at molecules from different functional groups and how those structures look and how to name them.  Again I’m using a modeling style activity to help guide the students to these understandings themselves.  If anyone is interested in seeing the activities I’m using please feel free to contact me through the comments.

About bradwysocki

I teach high school Chemistry and Physics using Arizona State University's Modeling Method. The school I teach in is Bloomer HS in Northwest Wisconsin. I've been using the Modeling Method for 7 years now and have just recently begun using Standards Based Grading as a way to assess my students learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

