Day 56 – Analyzing the Bowing Ball Lab

Wed. Nov, 20 2013

2013-11-20 11.07.46 2013-11-20 11.08.39

Chemistry 1 – Yesterday I introduced the differences and similarities of scientific laws and theories.  As student came in today I gave them an “Entry Ticket” to see what they picked up from my introduction.  Unfortunately, it wasn’t much, not that I’m surprised by that.  So, in-class today I wanted to give the students a better grasp of these concepts.  So based on our data and observations from the last week or so I gave groups the task to come up with a Gas Behavior Theory and a Gas Behavior Law(s).  I did give the class a hint that we already did this in class together, but just haven’t used those labels yet.  It took some questioning and pushing by me in small groups, but eventually as a class we were able to come to a consensus about the ideas.

2013-11-20 15.20.30 2013-11-20 15.21.07

Physics 1 – All the students have now had the experience of moving a bowling ball through a course both on the smooth floor as well as on the grass.  Today we began formally analyzing the different motions of the ball.  We began only analyzing the situation of the ball on the smooth floor (no friction).  I’m using Frank Noschese’s handout that inspired me to take the class outside yesterday.  That I come to find out he didn’t even do, just had it as a “thought lab.”

Chemistry 2 – Acid/Base Unit Assessment

 

About bradwysocki

I teach high school Chemistry and Physics using Arizona State University's Modeling Method. The school I teach in is Bloomer HS in Northwest Wisconsin. I've been using the Modeling Method for 7 years now and have just recently begun using Standards Based Grading as a way to assess my students learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

