Day 20 – Where credit is due

Mon Sept 30, 2013

First off, I need to give credit where credit is due.  Friday I posted about grading in color.  I don’t want to take credit for this idea.  An amazing physics teacher from Neenah, WI Mr. Scott Hertting (@scotthertting) was the originator (at least from my perspective) for this grading method.  He had tweeted last  year about using the green/yellow/red method and how nicely it coordinates with ActiveGrade.  I’m just making his system my own.  Thanks for the awesome idea Scott!

2013-09-30 09.22.44 2013-09-30 09.22.52Chemistry 1 – We began comparing volume measurements in lab.  Groups took measurements of base area and height (in cm) of different amounts of water held in various size and shape containers.  Using base area x height they calculated the volume of water in the units of cm^3.  Groups then measured that same amount of water in a large graduated cylinder to get the volume measurement in mL.  We will graph our data and compare the numbers tomorrow.

Physics 1 – Robot Lab 3.1 .  Student groups were given a pre-programmed robot, they were challenged to write a program, using a position vs time graph, for the other robot to move in the same manner as the first one.  No measurements were taken for this first attempt, just “eye balling” it.  See one groups attempt.

Chemistry 2 – Small groups worked on BCA table problems involving aqueous solutions.  Basically, problems that are a practical way to see the application of knowing Molarity of solutions for chemical reaction purposes.

 

About bradwysocki

I teach high school Chemistry and Physics using Arizona State University's Modeling Method. The school I teach in is Bloomer HS in Northwest Wisconsin. I've been using the Modeling Method for 7 years now and have just recently begun using Standards Based Grading as a way to assess my students learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment