Day 19 – Grading in Color

Fri Sept. 27, 2013

2013-09-27 14.09.30 2013-09-27 14.12.47

Chemistry 1 – Today was our third “weekly quiz.”  As you are figuring out the grading of these quizzes look little different than what you are used to.  Each item on the quiz is aligned to a particular Learning Goal (later on one quiz item might address multiple goals).  Each response is then scored based on if you have shown mastery of the goal or are developing mastery.  That is where the colors come in.  Green is “good job, you have shown me you know what you are supposed to.”  Yellow means “close, but you didn’t show me everything that you need to show.”  Red would mean “stop, you better look at this again, you are missing some major pieces.”

In the upper right hand corner of the quiz is where you and I can keep track of your achievement levels at a quick glance.  It also provides a place to see EXACTLY what you are being assessed on.  You should never have to guess what you need to know.  It’s all right here.  Click to read more about my grading practice.

Physics 1 – Students grouped up and worked on interpreting position vs. time graphs for one objects motion.  Groups were also given instructions on how to create a Motion Map for objects motion.  We will work with these moving forward.

Chemistry 2 – Lab groups shared the results of their Absorbance vs. Concentration Lab and what concentration they obtained of the unknown solution.  We also worked some Molarity problems from Practice set 3.

About bradwysocki

I teach high school Chemistry and Physics using Arizona State University's Modeling Method. The school I teach in is Bloomer HS in Northwest Wisconsin. I've been using the Modeling Method for 7 years now and have just recently begun using Standards Based Grading as a way to assess my students learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 19 – Grading in Color

  1. I also have been using colors to mark up papers in Physics. Still, some kids go right to ActiveGrade and look at the “number” that was entered. Some kids just look at the “Mastery.” I like it, but really, what are you gonna do? I guess it just takes time to deprogram years and years of programming by the “play for points” system.

    I also am seeing greater progress towards change in Physics, than in Chemistry. Not sure why, but my guess is that its a mix of a new grading system for them, and a total departure from what I’ve always done in Chem. It’s a work in progress.

    Keep up the awesome work.

    • bradwysocki says:

      I don’t have a lot of kids that log into ActiveGrade yet, so they just see their quiz “scores.” I have heard a lot more, “shoot I got a yellow, I need to do better” type of comments after returning quizzes. So I think this a great sign.

      I’m sure a little of the resistance you are getting to is that your students have had you before in the “traditional” system. Mine come to me for the first time in Chem or Physics, so both I and the system are new to them, which I think makes it an easier transition.

  2. Pingback: Mid-Year SBG Student Survey Results | iModel iBlog

Leave a Reply

